About » Small grains department

Since it was founded in 1938, the Institute has supported and continually developed breeding, cultivation practices and seed production of small grains, which was based on the introduced breeding material at first, and later on its own breeding material.

The basic scientific research is breeding or creation of small grain cultivars (wheat, barley, triticale, durum wheat, oats, and rye) with high yields and improved quality parameters, suitable for food, feed, and production of renewable energy sources. NS small grain cultivars are tolerant to abiotic stress (drought, extreme temperatures, etc.) and biotic factors (prevalent diseases and pests). Our cultivars have defined cultivation practices and processing purposes, and have been developed by using classic and modern biotechnology, with adherence to the European and global environmental protection standards.

High yields and excellent technological quality of the grain are recognized as the main features of NS small grain cultivars, together with stability and adaptability in various environmental and agricultural conditions.

Small Grains Department has released 443 cultivars of winter and spring small grains: 265 cultivars of winter bread wheat and 31 cultivars of spring bread wheat; 59 cultivars of winter barley and 39 cultivars of spring barley; 18 cultivars of winter triticale; 9 cultivars of winter oat and 10 cultivars of spring oat; 2 cultivars of spring durum wheat and 4 cultivars of winter durum wheat, 4 cultivars of winter rye, 1 cultivar of spelt and 1 cultivar of club wheat. There are 67 NS small grain cultivars that have been released in 17 countries of Europe, Asia Minor and North America.

Small Grains Department employs 6 researchers who hold a PhD degree, 4 researchers with MSc degrees and another 6 employees with BSc degrees (42 employees in total). They aim for transfer of scientific achievements into practice and improvement of agricultural production.